Poignant, Revealing Words

From Bob Gresh, (husband of Dannah Gresh). Posted to the Cedarville University Alumni Association’s FB page on Feb 21:

“On Tuesday, I spoke on the telephone with Chairman of the Trustees, Lorne Scharnberg. He confirmed that he wanted to see Cedarville return to the fundamentalist position that it held 19 years ago. (I’m not sure what that referenced.) The quick shift that we are seeing is not a “change” but a “return to the way it always was.” He indicated that Carl Ruby was turning CU to the left and wanted CU to “become more like Wheaton” and so John Gr[e]dy recognized he had to go.

“I told him that I was surprised at his answers since they were different than what I had read in the news releases. He never denied that both Bill Brown and Ruby were pushed out. He recognizes that this could push enrollment down significantly. I told him I thought it could drop by 300….(but that’s just a guess.) He’s sincere in his desire to return to fundamental principals so he is prepared to weather the enrollment storm. (…if indeed there is one.)

“Pray for all our friends at Cedarville. There is an open philosophical war that is underway. Our daughter, Lexi, is a freshman this year and Dannah and I were really happy with the direction…but, no matter whether you’d like to return to fundamentalism or stay the present course of conservatism, I encourage you to make your voice heard before Saturday’s watershed special meeting. All of the trustees emails are at https://fiatlux125.wordpress.com/contact/

(Emphasis Added. The original comment can be found here, unless it is removed.)

If you’re concerned and would like to follow Bob’s advice, please email the Cedarville Trustees ASAP.

They meet at 8:00am on Saturday, Feb 23, in the boardroom of the Dixon Ministry Center on Cedarville’s campus.

Bob Gresh

4 responses to “Poignant, Revealing Words

  1. Reblogged this on Soli Deo Gloria and commented:
    This is ridiculous and dangerous.
    “On Tuesday, I spoke on the telephone with Chairman of the Trustees, Lorne Scharnberg. He confirmed that he wanted to see Cedarville return to the fundamentalist position that it held 19 years ago. (I’m not sure what that referenced.) The quick shift that we are seeing is not a “change” but a “return to the way it always was.” He indicated that Carl Ruby was turning CU to the left and wanted CU to “become more like Wheaton” and so John Gr[e]dy recognized he had to go.

    “I told him that I was surprised at his answers since they were different than what I had read in the news releases. He never denied that both Bill Brown and Ruby were pushed out. He recognizes that this could push enrollment down significantly. I told him I thought it could drop by 300….(but that’s just a guess.) He’s sincere in his desire to return to fundamental principals so he is prepared to weather the enrollment storm. (…if indeed there is one.)

    “Pray for all our friends at Cedarville. There is an open philosophical war that is underway. Our daughter, Lexi, is a freshman this year and Dannah and I were really happy with the direction…but, no matter whether you’d like to return to fundamentalism or stay the present course of conservatism, I encourage you to make your voice heard before Saturday’s watershed special meeting. All of the trustees emails are at https://fiatlux125.wordpress.com/contact/“

    (Emphasis Added. The original comment can be found here, unless it is removed.)

  2. Oh wow…

    To those wondering, I saw the facebook post, so this wasn’t just made up by LTBL, so if they do delete it, know that it was actually there.

    This makes me wonder. If this is true, then…I really don’t have the words for this. I just don’t know. Dr. Ruby did a lot of good for the campus, and while he may have been more liberal than the university preferred, that shouldn’t have been a reason to get rid of him.

    However, what if this isn’t true? What if Bob Gresh made this up? I’m not saying he did. I don’t know who he is, so I’d have no reason to doubt him, but at the same time I have no reason to trust him. I’ve been following this for a long time, treating everything with a healthy dose of skepticism, and trying to get as close to the source here as possible. Why should we accept what Mr Gresh said as truth, when as far as I can tell, I don’t have a reason to blindly accept this? That’s not a rhetorical question, I want an answer. If this is true, than I”m not sure I should support the university any longer.

  3. Let me say that I believe there is a way for all of us to represent our opinions with grace and truth and my post was intended to clarify and advance the discussion.
    The types of challenges are mine fields so here is how I felt I could be open and yet fair.
    1) I personally spoke to Mr. Scharnberg and told him that I would likely share our conversation.
    2) Two days later, I saw an appropriate discussion on the alumni page that I knew was moderated by Cedarville staff. I knew they would remove it if it created a problem , as they have others. Their moderation has allowed the thread to be productive and I thank them for it. I trust the Alumni Association staff.
    3) Once I saw that others were using my post,in other contexts that I didn’t control (and underlining things) I immediately emailed Mr. Scharnberg, Dr. Gredy, and the entire Board of Trustees so that they knew it might be referenced.
    4) If there were any concerns as to its complete accuracy, I knew Mr. Scharnberg or Dr. Gredy would contact me.
    5) If they disagreed with the way I characterized the conversation, I would have shared their concerns with the readers of the original post.

    Good people of faith can disagree (and even have tough conversations) as long as they resolve to sincerely love one another, in the end. I suspect tomorrow’s Trustee meeting will contain tough conversations. We never win anyone to our side by publicly maligning them or belittling their arguments, feelings, and perspectives. My desire is that it all be done in the light and in the truth. Thanks. Be courageous no matter whose side you’re on…and behave yourselves:)

  4. Pingback: Let There Be Light: My Resignation | Soli Deo Gloria·

Discuss!

